Board Book · Bundle · Colorful · Diversity

Board Book Saturday

“Lines” (By: Sarvinder Naberhaus/ Illustrated by: Melinda Beck)

“Curls” (By: Ruth Forman/ Illustrated by: Geneva Bowers)

“Where’s the Penguin?” (Written and illustrated by: Ingela P. Arrhenius)

We have so many board books circulating our house right now. After the Christmas rush, plus the library picks, there are too many to choose from. Here are three in particular we’re currently enjoying:

“Line” is a clever, simple book about – you guessed it – lines. Focusing on lines, circles, and squares, the book talks about lines and what they can build together. My children love tracing the lines, the streets, and the towns Beck has illustrated.

“Curls” is by far the prettiest board book we have in our house right now. I saw “Curls” and “Glow” on a recent trip to Target, and had to check them out. Bower’s illustrations are stunning, warm, and remind me of the manga I used to devour in my younger years. Pairing nicely with “Hair Love” (but certainly a stand alone book), “Curls” focuses on self-love in a cheerful, uplifting book with few words. Honestly, I think I enjoyed this book more than my boys. It’s beautiful, has a powerful message, and always left me smiling. I love books that teach children (and adults) to love themselves as they are.

“Where’s the Penguin?” is one of the “Where’s the” series books. I previous featured “Where’s the Owl?” on another Board Book Saturday, and one of my boys got “Where’s the Dinosaur?” for Christmas. These books really hold my kid’s attention, so don’t be surprised if you see this series pop up again.

What board books are you reading right now?

Leave a comment