ARC Book · conversation starter · Critters · Deeper Meaning

Flooded

By: Mariajo Illustrajo

Published by: Quatro Publishing Group – Frances Lincoln Children’s Books

An ARC read. Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for the opportunity.

It’s an odd thing; one day the animals wake up to find their city just a little bit…wet. It’s a curiosity, a conversation starter, a change in the routine. No one thinks too much of it at first, but the water continues to rise causing bigger and bigger problems for the smaller animals. The large animals continue to ignore the water until it’s finally too high to ignore anymore. Finally, the animals start to listen to the voice of reason and work together to figure out how to rid their city of all the water that’s flooded their lives.

I loved this book. I loved the black and white illustrations with just a touch of yellow and a whole lot of blue. I loved the message that feels so relevant today for so many problems in our world. I loved the humor and the ambiguity, but most of all I loved how I got to use this book as an illustration in a conversation with my husband (bless his heart).

Flooded is a beautiful book about coming together as a community to tackle the problems around us. Parents and caregivers can utilize the ambiguity of the book to help children understand bigger issues in the world or smaller problems in their own lives. Flooded is set for publication October 2. Make sure you check it out, and let me know what you think!

Leave a comment